276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Postscript Murders: a gripping new mystery from the bestselling author of The Stranger Diaries

£9.495£18.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I thoroughly enjoyed spending time with this quirky, diverse cast of characters as they took their individual approaches to mystery-solving, resulting in an extremely satisfying ending where all plot threads were neatly tied up. Clues were seeded so carefully through the proceedings that I was absolutely chagrined that I hadn’t come up with the solution before our intrepid investigators did. I blame it partly on being so charmed by grumpy Harbinder, headstrong Natalka, awkward Benedict, and perhaps most of all by Edwin, who uses this adventure to keep at bay his fears of decrepitude. But Natalka had a reason to be at the police station: while clearing out Peggy's flat, she noticed an unusual number of crime novels, all dedicated to Peggy. And each psychological thriller included a mysterious postscript: PS: for PS. When a gunman breaks into the flat to steal a book and its author is found dead shortly thereafter--Detective Kaur begins to think that perhaps there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all.

But Natalka had a reason to be at the police station: while clearing out Peggy’s flat, she noticed an unusual number of crime novels, all dedicated to Peggy. And each psychological thriller included a mysterious postscript : PS: for PS. When a gunman breaks into the flat to steal a book and its author is found dead shortly thereafter—Detective Kaur begins to think that perhaps there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all. The death of a ninety-year-old woman with a heart condition should absolutely not be suspicious. DS Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing to concern her in carer Natalka's account of Peggy Smith's death.Natalka then shares her concerns with two friends who knew Peggy: Benedict - a thirtysomething former monk who now runs a coffee shop;

year-old Peggy Smith’s death appears to have been of natural causes. But her carer, Natalka, thinks otherwise. When she voices her suspicions, two acquaintances — Benedict, a former monk who now runs a coffee kiosk, and Edwin, a friend of Peggy’s and Benedict’s — also become curious. More surprising is that DS Harbinder Kaur of the local police agrees to look into the potential for foul play.I grabbed this off the New Fiction shelf at my library because I recognized DS Kaur from The Stranger Diaries and wanted to see what the author would do with her next. The Stranger Diaries was an eerie story with hints of the supernatural, told in first person through multiple POVs, and I knew this would have to be something very different. Peggy Smith, a 90-year-old, has died and her home aide/carer Natalka is concerned that it might be suspicious, especially when she finds an interesting business card stating “Murder Consultant.” Soon we are immersed in the world of mystery book writers, including a book festival in Edinburgh. From the sleepy seaside town of Shoreham, to the granite streets of Aberdeen and the shores of Lake Baikal, The Postscript Murders is a literary mystery for fans of Antony Horowitz, Agatha Christie and anyone who’s ever wondered just how authors think up such realistic crimes… Explore the character DS Harbinder Kaur. How does Kaur compare to detectives in other crime novels? What sets her apart, and how does her character challenge stereotypes about this profession? How do the other characters relate to Kaur and interact with her? What challenges does she face in her career as a detective sergeant and how does she handle them? Why does Kaur say that she would find herself unsympathetic if she read about herself as a character in a book? Did you feel sympathetic toward her character? Why or why not?What made it so entertaining was the eclectic cast of characters, the evolving mystery and the subtle but ever present humour. Elly Griffiths has a light touch in this book. There is plenty of humour, especially from Harbinder herself. She has her own wonderful ways of dealing internally with implied racism and with her partner's foibles. The three amateur detectives, Natalka, Edwin and Benedict are all beautifully drawn and make you cross your fingers that things will end well for them. The death of a ninety-year-old woman with a heart condition should not be suspicious. Detective Sergeant Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing out of the ordinary when Peggy’s caretaker, Natalka, begins to recount Peggy Smith’s passing. The obligatory spanner in the works turns up when Natalka finds some very strange cards inside some of Peggy’s books, cards that read “We’re coming for you”.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment